Entry Information
USGA State Team

The California Women's Championship not only produces a State Champion in amateur stroke play competition but also determines representatives for the State of California in the biennial USGA Women's State Team Championship.

The USGA Men's and Women's State Team Championships grew out of a celebration of the USGA centennial in 1995. The championships are open to players from all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. State associations may choose their teams - composed of three amateur, non-college players - by any method.

Since their inception in 1995, the USGA Men's and Women's State Team Championships have been held in the same years. Following the 2009 championships, the USGA Men's State Team Championship will be conducted in even-numbered years, and the USGA Women's State Team Championship will be conducted in odd-numbered years.

A point system is used to determine representatives for the California USGA Women's State Team. Points are earned over a two-year period by participating in the CWC. All points are deleted after the team has been announced and all players begin a new two-year cycle with zero points. To be eligible for the State Team a player must be a female amateur golfer who is a resident of the State of California. College players are restricted by NCAA rules from participating.

The team consists of three players; alternates are also appointed. Players are selected by point totals and eligibility. Ineligible players are removed from the finishing list before points are awarded. All ties are broken by a card match as recommended by the USGA before points are awarded. If ties occur, combine the points designated for the places tied, then divide equally and distribute.

2016 marked the beginning of a new two-year cycle for State Team point accumulation. Click here to see State Team Points earned in 2016. Click here to see the 2016 'ineligible players' list.

Representatives determined by participation and placement in the CWC State Team points accumulated in 2016-2017. Team members selected in 2017 based on total points and eligibility will compete at The Club at Las Campanas, Santa Fe, NM, September 26-28, 2017. NCAA rules retrict college players from participating.

2015 Team Pictured here

The 2015 USGA Women's State Team Championship was held on September 10-12 at Dalhousie Golf Club in Cape Girardeau, Missouri. Representing California were Sara Banke, Lynne Cowan and Caryn Wilson. The designated Team Captain was WSCGA President, Judy Altschuler. Visit the USGA Women's State Team website for more information. 

Who will be on the 2017 Team? Who will play at The Club at Las Campanas, Santa Fe, NM, September 26-28, 2017?